Blue Eye Logo

Blue Eye Macro

Automation is freedom
It is currently Wed Sep 19, 2018 8:36 pm

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: text on desktop
Thanked: 0 time(s)  Unread post Posted: Thu Aug 16, 2012 7:52 am 
Lifetime VIP Contributor
Lifetime VIP Contributor
User avatar



Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2010 10:51 am
Posts: 212
Location: Pandora
Been thanked: 97 time(s)
Has thanked: 66 time(s)
Contribution Points: 8643
this puts text over your desktop background - here are some uses:
  • to-do lists or reminders
  • macro logs or status
  • time until or since an event
  • multiclient chat or combat logs
  • rss feeds (with some creativity :roll:)

get it in the plugin suite, see link in sig

this does change your background but it does not alter the original file

also this is for primary display only at the moment since that's what i test on

the plugin deals with blocks - as in "blocks of text," you can think of them as lists, as shown below:

Image

the blocks are customizable:
    font
  • style
  • size
  • transparency
  • color
    background
  • transparency
  • color
    shadow
  • offset
  • transparency
  • color
Image

you can run any of these commands from macros to change appearance or content:
Code:
     // to add an entry (will create block if needed):
     Plugins.background (Add block)("block 1", "information overloads", "left")

     // to change the block's font and shadow:
     Plugins.background (Block font)("block 1", "Lucida Handwriting", "12", "8", "200", "255", "255", "255", "1", "1", "255", "0", "0", "0")

     // to change the block's background:
     Plugins.background (Block background)("block 1", "60", "255", "0", "0")

     // to move a block:
     Plugins.background (Move block)("block 1", "down")

     // to remove a block:
     Plugins.background (Delete block)("block 1", "yes")
and run Draw afterward to update the background. the Draw method is separated from the others because it takes much longer due to image IO. it should be possible to make hundreds of changes quickly if you're not redrawing too often
Code:
     // draw without time column
     Plugins.background (Draw)("false")
or you could use an infinite Draw macro if you plan on having multiple macros adding data
Code:
 begin loop("-1")
     // draw with time column
     Plugins.background (Draw)("true")
     Macro.Pause("5000")
 end
depending on screen resolution and font size it should hold a good bit of info. if you want to cut out the disk IO (making it 100x faster) you can use RAMdisk and mklink at command prompt, pm if you want details on that

Image


Last edited by sickslug on Wed Aug 29, 2012 8:58 am, edited 17 times in total.

Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: text on desktop
Thanked: 1 time(s)  Unread post Posted: Tue Aug 21, 2012 2:43 am 
Lifetime VIP Contributor
Lifetime VIP Contributor
User avatar



Joined: Mon Sep 26, 2011 9:38 am
Posts: 1702
Location: Space Australia
Been thanked: 78 time(s)
Has thanked: 6 time(s)
Contribution Points: 9991
Wouldnt it be simpler to just use a gui overlay with a low opacity then to directly modify the background... It would also allow for much more customization (put gui at X,Y Opacity = blah% color = blah etc etc) and you could have more than one in that case... Plus it would be easy to expand it for images and small video players etc etc... Basically a full hud suite...

Just some thoughts really.

_________________
ImageImageImageImage
Image


Last edited by Thedragonfiend on Tue Aug 21, 2012 10:39 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: text on desktop
Thanked: 1 time(s)  Unread post Posted: Tue Aug 21, 2012 3:32 am 
Lifetime VIP Contributor
Lifetime VIP Contributor
User avatar



Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2010 10:51 am
Posts: 212
Location: Pandora
Been thanked: 97 time(s)
Has thanked: 66 time(s)
Contribution Points: 8643
thanks for your idea - this little project has already been more trouble than i'd expected. the math that goes into creating a table programatically is no joke hehe. also the logic to move columns and rows. i'm glad i'm trying this way once because it's giving me a lot of ideas on how i could have started smarter :)

i agree what you described would be preferable. i had in mind a simple plugin and didn't think about starting a standalone application - an upside would be that an actual application is like 10x easier to debug than a plugin hehe. plus using a flowlayoutpanel or tablelayoutpanel would remove the math. another upside would be that i could add some simple animation to make it more pleasant looking

in the future i may look into a gui overlay instead :idea: it would be neat to paint text over a game so long as it's not detectable

i need to clone myself so i can get some stuff done


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: text on desktop
Thanked: 0 time(s)  Unread post Posted: Tue Aug 21, 2012 4:56 am 
Lifetime VIP Contributor
Lifetime VIP Contributor
User avatar



Joined: Mon Sep 26, 2011 9:38 am
Posts: 1702
Location: Space Australia
Been thanked: 78 time(s)
Has thanked: 6 time(s)
Contribution Points: 9991
sickslug wrote:
thanks for your idea - this little project has already been more trouble than i'd expected. the math that goes into creating a table programatically is no joke hehe. also the logic to move columns and rows. i'm glad i'm trying this way once because it's giving me a lot of ideas on how i could have started smarter :)

i agree what you described would be preferable. i had in mind a simple plugin and didn't think about starting a standalone application - an upside would be that an actual application is like 10x easier to debug than a plugin hehe. plus using a flowlayoutpanel or tablelayoutpanel would remove the math. another upside would be that i could add some simple animation to make it more pleasant looking

in the future i may look into a gui overlay instead :idea: it would be neat to paint text over a game so long as it's not detectable

i need to clone myself so i can get some stuff done


Im glad that im on the right track ideas wise XD

_________________
ImageImageImageImage
Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: text on desktop
Thanked: 0 time(s)  Unread post Posted: Wed Aug 22, 2012 6:28 am 
Lifetime VIP Contributor
Lifetime VIP Contributor
User avatar



Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2010 10:51 am
Posts: 212
Location: Pandora
Been thanked: 97 time(s)
Has thanked: 66 time(s)
Contribution Points: 8643
sickslug wrote:
in the future i may look into a gui overlay instead :idea: it would be neat to paint text over a game so long as it's not detectable
i went ahead and did this. find it here


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: text on desktop
Thanked: 0 time(s)  Unread post Posted: Thu Apr 11, 2013 7:48 am 
New User
New User



Joined: Thu Mar 21, 2013 10:58 am
Posts: 6
Been thanked: 0 time(s)
Has thanked: 0 time(s)
Contribution Points: 20
thanks for your idea - this little project has already been more trouble than i'd expected. the math that goes into creating a table programatically is no joke hehe.


_________________
Runescape Gold|Rs Gold|cheap Runescape Gold


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 

All times are UTC


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You can reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  


Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group